Tags

, , , ,

Determined to fit lots in, and forgetting I was staying for a year, I sought out many things to see on my first day living in Rome: The Spanish Steps, Piazza del Popolo, Villa Borghese gardens and The Pantheon.

I remember calling my Dad from a cafe right opposite the Pantheon and trying to convey what I was seeing. It was so hard, since you really had to be there to appreciate it. Like so many travel tales, ’tis true: “You had to be there.”

“I wish you could see what I’m seeing, Dad”, I said.

He was just pleased for me, and a little proud that I was going off to improve my Italian through a scholarship from The Italian Embassy.

“I can’t see it”, he said.

“You just enjoy it, take it all in. Take some photos, even, so I can see later.”

And so I did. And so he saw exactly what I meant.

The Spanish Steps

Piazza del Popolo

Terrace at rear leads to Villa Borghese Gardens (Giardino Borghese)

Cafe opposite the Pantheon and Hotel Abruzzi (the region in Italy my Dad is from, an hour and a half from Rome)

The Pantheon

